•  Welcome!
- email
- MIDI Index
- MP3 Index
•  Biography
•  Catalogs
•  Works
- Instrumental
- Vocal
•  Pictures
•  Resources

JS Bach

Vocal Works

Church music with Latin texts

Bach's Latin church music, mostly intended for special feast days, comprises a Magnificat (in two versions: E-flat, with four inserted Christmas pieces; and D); four short masses (Kyrie and Gloria pairs); several miscellaneous movements; and the monumental comilation known as the B minor Mass. Bach's composition of the B minor Mass came in installments, over a period of more than twenty years; his final assembly of all the parts took place ca. 1747-1749. Much of the Latin church music, including various parts of the B minor Mass, was based on pre-existent Bach compositions. In all these works, Bach normally included some movements in stile antico and other movements in stile moderno. 

Cantatas. Bach composed cantatas for special occasions, with both sacred and secular texts.

Passions. Including the St. John and St. Matthew Passions.

Church music with Latin texts. Latin church music intended for special feast days.
Oratories. Including the Christmas, Easter and Ascension Oratorios.

Motets. Written for special occasions with German text.