Translate this page.
Übersetzen Sie diese Seite.

•  Welcome!
- email
- MIDI Index
- MP3 Index
•  Biography
•  Catalogs
•  Works
- Instrumental
- Vocal
•  Pictures
•  Resources

JS Bach

Instrumental Works

Art of Fugue

The Art of Fugue (ca. 1745-1750) is Bach's final systematic collection of fugues and canons. It has been preserved in two versions, the second (printed after Bach's death) containing revisions and additions by the composer. The enlarged version comprises four simple fugues, two regular subject, and two inverted subject (all for four voices); three counter fugues (all for four voices), in which the subject is paired with an inverted answer; two double fugues (both for four voices); two triple fugues (one for three voices, one for four); four canons (all for tw voices); three mirror fugues (one for three voices, two for four), each illustrating both melodic and contrapuntal inversions; and an incomplete quadruple fugue (missing its final section, which undoubtedly would have combined the various themes from the surviving sections). Each fugue (actually called a contrapunctus by Bach) uses the same subject, or a variation of that subject. 

Organ Music. Bach's early works, pre-Weimar, through his late works at Leipzig.

String Keyboard (clavier) music. Covers the Bach's significant pieces.

The Well-Tempered Clavier. The best known of Bach's clavier works.

Suites and Partitas. Bach's clavier suites and partitas.

Goldberg Variations. This aria with thirty variations is representative of Baroque theme and variations.
Solo music for other instruments. Compositions primarily from Bach's period in Cöthen including his cello suites.

Orchestral music. Examples of Baroque concertos and suites, including Air on the G String and the Brandenburg Concertos.

Inventions and Sinfonia. Two sets of fifteen contrapuntal pieces written for teaching purposes.
Canons. Bach's canonic variations.

Musical Offering. Based on a theme given to Bach by Frederick the Great.

Art of Fugue. Bach's final collection of fugues and canons.

Unfinished fugue. Last in the Art of Fugue, this fugue is formed from the letters of Bach's name.